The Leeward Islands Federation (1871)

Introduction:

This could be called the brainchild of Governor **Benjamin Pine.** There were six (6) member countries, (called presidencies)

- St. Kitts
- Nevis
- Antigua
- Montserrat
- Dominica
 - o The British Virgin Islands

British Leeward Islands 1871-1939 1940-1956 Anguilla Antigua Antigua Montserrat 6 Montserrat * Guadeloupe (Guadeloupe (Dominica Martinique S Martinique S St. Lucia Lesser Lesser Antilles Barbados Barbados Grenada O Grenada O Tobago

The Leeward Islands

Each member country had two representatives. The membership decreases in 1882 when St. Kitts becomes joined to Nevis. In 1940, Dominica was transferred to the Windward Islands further decreasing the number of council members.

The council of the Leeward Islands Federation allowed for the creation of <u>two</u> <u>councils</u>

- **1.** A Federal Executive- an advisory body to the Governor.
- **2.** A General Legislative. This was compromised of federal officials nominated by the Governor and unofficial members from each Presidency. Members served for a three year period.

The council could legislate in conjunction with the Presidential Legislative Council on matters such as:

- Prisons and asylums
- Police force
- Auditing of public accounts
- Post and telegraph
- Education

One important note was the fact that the matter of the U.S. bases was transferred from the Presidential Legislative council to this body. The Leeward Islands Federation was quite 'successful' in the context of its lifespan 85 years. It was superseded by the West Indies Federation.